Jammu and Kashmir Election Results 2024: Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti behind after first round of counting.

New Delhi:

Counting of votes for the first elections held after the abrogation of Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir is underway. After the first round of vote counting, former chief minister Omar Abdullah trailed his nearest rival Engineer Rashid of the Awami Itihas Party (AIP). Let us tell you that Omar Abdullah is contesting from Baramulla seat. Former Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti is also behind.

Let us tell you that elections have been held in five Lok Sabha seats of Jammu and Kashmir. After 35 years, this election has seen heavy turnout. Earlier there were 6 Lok Sabha seats in the state. After the separation of Ladakh, five Lok Sabha seats are left in Jammu and Kashmir. Baramulla, Srinagar, Anantnag, Jammu and Udhampur.

Lok Sabha seat Next behind
Baramulla Abdul Rashid Shaikh (Independent) Omar Abdullah (JKPC)
Srinagar Agha Syed Ruholla Mehdi (JKNC) Hakit Singh (Other)
Anantnag Mian Altaf Ahmed (JKNC)
Jammu Jugal Kishor (BJP)
Udhampur Dr. Jitendra Singh (BJP) Chaudhary Lal Singh (Congress)

In 2019, Ladakh was also included in Jammu and Kashmir. This is the reason why earlier there were 6 Lok Sabha seats in Jammu and Kashmir. In 2019, the BJP captured three seats and the National Conference (NC) captured three seats. BJP hoisted saffron on Jammu, Udhampur and Ladakh seats. At the same time, the National Conference won elections on three seats in the Kashmir Valley – Baramulla, Srinagar and Anantnag. Many exit polls predict India Alliance to win 3 seats and NDA 2 seats.

The fate of 100 candidates is to be decided in Jammu and Kashmir, including senior BJP leader and Union Minister Jitendra Singh, two former chief ministers of the National Conference, Omar Abdullah and People’s Democratic Party’s Mehbooba Mufti. BJP candidate from Kathua-Udhampur Lok Sabha seat is Jitendra Singh, while Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti are contesting from Baramulla and Anantnag-Rajouri seats respectively.

Union Minister Jitendra Singh is challenged by Chaudhary Lal Singh of Congress, Sajjad Gani Lone of People’s Conference (PC) and Engineer Rashid of Awami Ittehad Party (AIP), while the main rival is Mehbooba Mufti Hai of National Conference (NC) by Mian Altaf Ahmed.

Check here for all updates related to election results
2019 vs 2024: Election Results Live

Leave a Comment