NDA’s hat trick, Modi government once again… but with a coalition

In Bihar this time Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) was leading in all its five seats. Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD could not open the account last time but this time the party is ahead in four seats. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) is leading in three seats in the state while the party won only one seat in the last general elections. Recently JMM leader Hemant Soren was arrested on charges of corruption.

What was the result of the defecting leaders?
Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, businessman Naveen Jindal and Uttar Pradesh Minister Jitin Prasad who won the Lok Sabha elections included, while Ashok Tanwar, Sita Soren and Praneet Kaur joined the list of BJP contestants, but they could not win the election. Aviation Minister Scindia won from Guna constituency in Madhya Pradesh by a margin of over five lakh votes.

Scindia contested the 2019 elections on a Congress ticket, but lost to BJP’s Krishnapal Singh. The constituency has been a stronghold of the Scindia family, represented by his grandmother Vijaya Raje Scindia, known as the Rajma of Gwalior. He won four consecutive terms from 1989 to 1998 as a member of the BJP.

Scindia has In 2020, he rebelled against the Congress and joined the BJP along with 22 of his supporting MLAs in Madhya Pradesh, resulting in the BJP coming to power in the state. Businessman and two-time MP Naveen Jindal joined the BJP in March this year, severing two-decade-old ties with the Congress. He won from Kurukshetra in Haryana by over 29,000 votes.

Latest and breaking news on NDTV

Jitin Prasad, son of Uttar Pradesh Public Works Minister and senior Congress leader late Jitendra Prasad, left the Congress and joined the BJP three years ago. He was fielded from the Pilibhit Lok Sabha constituency to replace incumbent MP Varun Gandhi and won by a margin of over 1.64 lakh votes. Former Haryana Congress president Ashok Tanwar, who joined the BJP earlier this year, lost the election from Sirsa to Congress’s Kumari Shailja by a margin of 2.68 lakh votes.

Tanwar left Congress in 2019 and joined AAP in 2022. Meanwhile, the former Lok Sabha MP formed his own party and also joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC) for a while. Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) MLA Sita Soren, who joined the BJP in March this year, lost the election from Dumka by a margin of over 22,000 votes. She is the sister-in-law of former Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren.
Latest and breaking news on NDTV

This year, former Union Minister Praneet Kaur, who joined the BJP, lost the election from Patiala. She has won this seat four times before. Kaur finished third and lost by a margin of about 16,000 votes. Ravneet Bittu, who won as a Congress candidate in 2019 and joined the BJP in March, could not save his Ludhiana seat. He lost to Congress’s Amarinder Singh Raja by over 20,000 votes. Sushil Rinku, who was the only Aam Aadmi Party MP in the outgoing Lok Sabha, also joined the BJP before the elections. He too could not save his Jalandhar seat. He was defeated by former Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi of the Congress.

Many Union Ministers lost
Many Union Ministers lost the Lok Sabha elections. Smriti Irani lost the election from Amethi seat. Dr. Mahendra Nath Pandey lost the election from Chandauli Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh. CPI(ML)’s Sudama Prasad defeated Union Minister Raj Kumar Singh from Arah seat in Bihar. BJP leader Arjun Munda also faced defeat from Jharkhand’s Khunti Lok Sabha seat. He was defeated in the election by Kali Charan Munda.

Also Read-

Track the latest news on NDTV.in and get news updates from across the country and around the world.

Leave a Comment