SA vs BAN: Big uproar over umpire’s decision… Out instead of four, ICC rule hits Bangladesh hard

The 21st match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 was played between South Africa and Bangladesh and there was a lot of uproar in this match due to an umpire’s decision. According to the rules, the umpire should have awarded four runs, but the umpire gave the batsman out. This umpire’s decision later proved costly for Bangladesh as the team eventually lost by four runs. Let us tell you that after winning the toss and batting first at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York, South Africa scored 113 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Bangladesh scored 109 runs in 20 overs losing 7 wickets.

Umpire’s decision hit Bangladesh hard

Otnil Baartman came to bowl the 17th over of Bangladesh’s innings. Meanwhile, the duo of Tauheed Hridayoy and Mahmudullah was at the crease. At this point, Bangladesh needed 27 runs from 24 balls to win. Tauheed Hriday took a single off the first ball of the over and gave Mahmudullah a strike. After this, the on-field umpire declared Mahmudullah out lbw on the second ball of the over.

It was a full ball, which Mahmudullah tried to flick while shuffling. It was a middle leg ball and it was clear by looking at the ball that it was going to miss the leg stump. In such a situation, Mahmudullah reviewed the decision with the umpire after talking to Tawheed, who was standing at the non-striker’s end, and ball tracking showed that the ball was missing the leg stump. Let us tell you that the ball went towards the boundary after hitting Mahmudullah’s pad. However, because the umpire declared Mahmudullah out. Due to which Bangladesh could not score four runs and finally Bangladesh lost the match by only four runs.

What does the rule say?

According to the ICC Dead Ball Rules, if the on-field umpire gives the batsman out LBW, no extra runs (leg-by or bye) will be awarded, even if the decision is overturned by the third umpire. However, if the on-field umpire’s decision is not out and the on-field umpire’s decision remains intact after the bowling team’s review, the batting team may be awarded a leg-by run.

Also read: “If India want to win the T20 World Cup…”, former captain Kumble challenged Bumrah.

Also Read: T20 World Cup 2024: “They don’t even talk to each other and…”, big reveal about Pak dressing room


Leave a Comment