SL vs SA Live: Sri Lanka-South African giants to face each other after some time


South Africa and Sri Lanka are in Group D. This group also has teams like Netherlands, Bangladesh and Nepal.This time 20 teams are participating in the T20 World Cup.

New Delhi. South Africa take on Sri Lanka in a Group D match in the T20 World Cup 2024 today. This is the first match of both the teams in the tournament. This match is being played at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. This match is being seen as the first big match of the tournament. South Africa’s batting is very strong while Sri Lanka’s bowling is considered very diverse. Both the teams are looking to start the T20 World Cup 2024 with a win.

In addition to South Africa and Sri Lanka, the group includes teams like Netherlands, Bangladesh and Nepal. In the shortest format of the game, any team has the potential to pull off an upset at any time. In such a situation, both the strong teams in the group will not want to make any mistakes from the start. Apart from captain Eden Markram, South Africa have wicketkeeper batsmen like Henrik Klaasen, Quinton de Kock, David Miller and Tristan Stubbs. Klaassen and Stubbs are currently in the best form of their careers. Both of them have performed brilliantly during the recent IPL 2024.

The Sri Lankan team has so far failed to make it to the knockout stages of the T20 World Cup. The good news for Sri Lanka is that South Africa suffered a 0-3 defeat in the recently played T20 series against West Indies. Sri Lanka will try to capitalize on this. If Sri Lanka are to progress beyond the league stage this time around, their batsmen will have to perform well. They have batsmen like the experienced Angelo Mathews, the explosive Kusal Mendis and Dhananjay de Silva, while former captain Dasun Shanaka can score some quick runs in the lower order.

South African Team: Aiden Markram (capt), Ottenil Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortune, Riza Hendricks, Marco Jensen, Henrik Klaassen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Enrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickleton, Tribez Stubbs, Tribust

Sri Lankan Team: Vanindu Hasranga (capt), Charith Aslanka, Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nisanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadira Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjay de Silva, Mahesh Thikshana, Dunith Vellage, Dushmantha Chamira, Nushanth Thahira, Nusanka, Nusanka.

Tags: ICC T20 World Cup, South Africa Cricket, Sri Lanka Cricket Team

Leave a Comment