The central government has announced the complete list of holidays for 2024- CMB College

The central government has announced the complete list of holidays for 2024

Read on the application

List of Holidays 2024: When will Diwali come in the year 2024? On which date and day does the next sixty-sixth puja fall? When and on which day is Holi falling in 2024? So let us not only know the dates and days of these festivals but here you also have the list of holidays 2024 for central employees.

As per the office memorandum dated July 3, 2023, the central government administrative offices will observe the holidays listed below during 2024. Apart from this, each staff member will be free to choose any two. The following holidays will be observed compulsorily in addition to three holidays in administrative offices of the Central Government located outside Delhi, to be selected from among the 12 optional holidays mentioned below.

Sl.No. Holiday date day
1 Republic Day 26-January Friday
2 Holi 25-March Monday
3 Good Friday March 29-Friday
4 Eid-ul-Fitr 11-April Thursday
5 Ram Navami 17 April- Wednesday
6 Mahavir Jayanti 21-April Sunday
7 Buddha Purnima 23-May Thursday
8 Eid-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) 17-June Monday
9 Muharram 17-July Wednesday
10 Independence Day 15 August – Thursday
11 Janmashtami (Vaishnava) 26-August Monday
12 Milad-un-Nabi or Eid-e-Milad 16-September Monday
13 Gandhi Jayanti 2-October Wednesday
14 Dussehra 12-October Saturday
15 Diwali 31-October Thursday
16 Guru Nanak Jayanti 15-November Friday
17 Christmas Day 25-December Wednesday

As per Central Government Holiday List 2024, “Any change in the date of holidays in respect of Eid-ul-Fitr, Eid-ul-Azha, Muharram and Eid-e-Milad for offices in Delhi/New Delhi, if necessary, “depending on moon sighting.”

“Diwali 2024 will fall on October 31, Sunday. In some states, it is customary to celebrate the occasion a day earlier i.e. “Narak Chaturdashi Day”. Keeping this in mind, if central government offices in any state celebrate “Narak Chaturdashi”. Diwa ( instead of the day of Diwali)” does not matter if a holiday is observed on account of Diwali, provided that on that day Diwali is declared a compulsory holiday in the offices of the State Government in that State.”

List of Mandatory and Prohibited Holidays 2024

Sl.No. Holiday date day
1 New Year’s Day 1-January Monday
2 Lohri 13-January Saturday
3 Makar Sankranti 14-January Sunday
4 Magh Bihu/Pongal 15-January Monday
5 Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti 17-January Wednesday
6 Birthday of Hazrat Ali 25-January Thursday
7 Basant Panchami 14-February Wednesday
8 Shivji Jayanti 19-February Monday
9 Guru Ravidas Jayanti 24 – February Saturday
10 Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanthi 6-March Wednesday
11 Maha Shivratri 8-March Friday
12 Holika Dahan 24-March Sunday
13 Pilgrimage 25-March Monday
14 Easter Sunday 31-March Sunday
15 Jamaat-ul-Vida 5-April Friday
16 Chaitra Shukladi / Gudi Padwa / Ugadi / Chetti Chand 9-April Tuesday
17 Baisakhi/Vishu 13-April- Saturday
18 Tamil New Year’s Day) / Vaishakhadi (Bengal) / Bahag Bihu (Assam) 14-April- Sunday
19 Guru Rabindranath Tagore Jayanti 8-May Wednesday
20 Rath Yatra Sunday 7th July
21 Parsi New Year’s Day/Nauraj 15-August Thursday
22 Rakshabandhan 19-August Monday
23 Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayak Chaturthi 7-September Saturday
24 Onam 15-September Sunday
25 Dussehra (Saptami) 10-October Thursday
26 Dussehra (Mahashtami) / Dussehra (Mahanavami) 11-October Friday
27 Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti 17-October Thursday
28 Karva Choth 20 October Sunday
29 Narak Chaturdashi 31-October Thursday
30 Govardhan Puja 2-November Saturday
31 Bhai Dooj Sunday 3-Nov
31 Chhath Puja 7-November Thursday
32nd Martyr’s Day of Guru Tegh Bahadur 24 November Sunday
33 Christmas Eve Tuesday 24th December

Leave a Comment